Maelstrom (BBC TV) (DVD) DVD


Catherine Durrell (Tusse Silberg) is made redundant but a surprise is in store when she learns that by the inexplicable whim of a drowned man she has been left a fortune in Norway. Who was this man – and why was she chosen as beneficiary? To find the answer Catherine travels to Ålesund the beautiful capital of the Sunnmøre region. Here against a background of contemporary Norwegian life but paralleled by myth and legend Catherine becomes deeply involved in the affairs of the Jordahl family and more and more her parentage is called into question... as she probes the mysterious life and background of Hjalmar Jordahl. She embarks on a passionate stormy and potentially tragic relationship which places her life in even greater danger. Catherine pursues her investigations until finally on Midsummer’s Eve and with the pagan Nordic celebrations at their height the last piece of the jigsaw falls into place and she comes face to face with her own would-be killer. And the maelstrom into which she has been inexorably drawn threatens to engulf her... [show more]

Read More

buy new from £999,999.00 | RRP: £29.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount
Searching retailers...
  • DVD Details
  • Reviews (0)
  • Descriptions
  • Price History
  • Watch Trailer
14 September 2015
Eureka Entertainment Ltd 
300 minutes 
  • Title not yet reviewed...

  • Please review this title

    We will publish your review of Maelstrom (BBC TV) (DVD) on DVD within a few days as long as it meets our guidelines.
    None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

    Thank you - we will review and publish your review shortly.

Tusse Silberg stars in this six-part BBC miniseries. After losing her job, Catherine Durrell (Silberg) discovers she has inherited a fortune from an unknown Norwegian man. Shortly after his death, Catherine travels to the Norwegian town of Ålesund to try and learn more about her wealthy benefactor. But as she gets to know his relatives, Catherine finds herself caught up in the dangerous and murky affairs of the mysterious Jordahl family and soon discovers that someone is out to kill her. The episodes are: 'An Ill Wind', 'Shadows', 'In Possession', 'House of Secrets', 'Into the Vortex' and 'Out of the Depths'.