Plays for Britain - The Complete Series DVD


This hard-hitting anthology series continued the single-play format that had proved so successful with ITV's legendary Armchair Theatre, presenting six contemporary plays by writers at relatively early stages in their careers. The keynote is a provocative realism: Stephen Poliakoff's Hitting Town is an intense portrayal of siblings who find refuge from their bleak lives in one incestuous night; Roger McGough's The Life Swappers is a darkly comic take on the theme of exchanged identities; Howa...

Read More

buy new from £7.49 | RRP: £19.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount
Searching retailers...
  • DVD Details
  • Reviews (0)
  • Descriptions
  • Price History
  • Watch Trailer
02 September 2013
400 minutes 
  • Title not yet reviewed...

  • Please review this title

    We will publish your review of Plays for Britain - The Complete Series on DVD within a few days as long as it meets our guidelines.
    None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

    Thank you - we will review and publish your review shortly.

1970s drama series comprising six British plays. In 'The Paradise Run', a soldier finds himself in war-torn Northern Ireland and quickly realises he is unprepared for the events to come. In 'The Life-Swappers', a man decides to trade his identity in order to get a break. In 'Sunshine in Brixton', a teenager's school life is improved with the arrival of a new teacher. In 'Hitting Town', a night on the town leads to incest for a brother and sister. In 'Fast Hands', a talented boxer finds he does not have the support of his family to pursue his passion. In 'Shuttlecock', a young boy has trouble fitting into the adult world.

A collection of six contemporary plays by writers at relatively early stages in their careers. Includes; THE PARADISE RUN, THE LIFE SWAPPERS, SUNSHINE IN BRIXTON, HITTING TOWN, FAST HANDS and SHUTTLECOCK.