The Changes (2-Disc DVD Set) DVD


The long-awaited DVD premiere of this influential science-fiction series which was first broadcast on BBC1 in early 1975. Well remembered for its unsettling depiction of a society in meltdown The Changes paved the way for the likes of Survivors and Day of the Triffids. When a strange noise is emitted from machinery and electricity pylons previously placid and easy-going folk turn violently against the technology that surrounds them - ruthlessly attacking radios TVs and other domestic appliances. In the devastating aftermath young Nicky Gore (Victoria Williams)... is separated from her parents but finds a surrogate home with a group of Sikhs. But they soon are dubbed 'The Devil's Children' by superstitious locals and Nicky is accused of sorcery by a witchfinder. In grave danger she is forced to find a way to escape find her parents and uncover what caused the world to become so unbalanced. This highly acclaimed series was adapted from Peter Dickinson's best-selling trilogy by Anna Home (who would later become chief executive of the Children's Film and Television Foundation) and features music by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop's Paddy Kingsland (The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy). Its gritty depiction of a near-apocalyptic world and its integration of Sikh characters make it as progressive and fascinating now as it was when it was first broadcast. Episodes Comprise: The Noise The Bad Wires The Devil's Children Hostages! Witchcraft! A Pile of Stones Heartsease Lightning! The Quarry The Cavern [show more]

Read More

buy new from £10.29 | RRP: £24.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount
Searching retailers...
  • DVD Details
  • Reviews (0)
  • Descriptions
  • Price History
  • Watch Trailer
25 August 2014
246 minutes 
Dolby, PAL 
  • Title not yet reviewed...

  • Please review this title

    We will publish your review of The Changes (2-Disc DVD Set) on DVD within a few days as long as it meets our guidelines.
    None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

    Thank you - we will review and publish your review shortly.

Children's science fiction series from the 1970s starring Victoria Williams and Keith Ashton. Teenage girl Nicky Gore (Williams) lives in a town where the residents have rebelled against modern technology, choosing instead to live a pre-industrial lifestyle. When Nicky tries to find out why her neighbours hate technology, she is accused of being a witch and imprisoned for her crimes. The episodes are: 'The Noise', 'The Bad Wires', 'The Devil's Children', 'Hostages!', 'Witchcraft!', 'A Pile of Stones', 'Heartsease', 'Lightning!', 'The Quarry' and 'The Cavern'.