The Further Adventures of the Musketeers DVD


Romance, action, betrayal, suspensethis timeless BBC adaptation of The Three Musketeers has it all. In 1620s France, the young, poor and unfailingly ambitious d'Artagnan (BAFTA-nominee Joss Ackland) leaves his humble village and treks to Paris on a quest to join the Musketeers of the Guard. At first, he's ridiculed, abused, and scornedbut after he impresses the three high-estesteemed musketeers in the land, they take him under their wing. With Porthos (Brian Blessed, Z Cars), Athos (Jeremy Young), and Aramis (John Woodvine) at his side, d'Artagnan sharpens his skills... as a swordsman and, more often than not, is forced to put them to the test. The gang becomes entangled in a web of lies, love, violence and deceit among the French royalty, treacherous territory where even one wrong move could land them in prisonor worse. Over the course of ten thrilling, masterfully-crafted episodes, this series from the heyday of the BBC's classic Sunday serialĀ (Telegraph) traces through Alexander Dumas' masterwork with stylebringing 17th century France to life in all its swashbuckling, chivalric, captivating glory. [show more]

Read More

buy new from £8.98 | RRP: £29.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount
Searching retailers...
  • DVD Details
  • Reviews (0)
  • Descriptions
  • Price History
  • Watch Trailer
23 May 2016
Simply Media 
400 minutes 
  • Title not yet reviewed...

  • Please review this title

    We will publish your review of The Further Adventures of the Musketeers on DVD within a few days as long as it meets our guidelines.
    None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

    Thank you - we will review and publish your review shortly.

All 16 episodes of the 1967 series based on the Alexandre Dumas novel 'Twenty Years After'. The series follows Athos (Jeremy Young), Porthos (Brian Blessed) and Aramis (John Woodvine) along with their new recruit d'Artagnan (Joss Ackland) as they continue to protect the name and throne of the king. The episodes are: 'Defiance', 'Treason', 'Conspiracy', 'Conflict', 'Peril', 'Abduction', 'The Boy King', 'Rebellion', 'Escape', 'The Oath', 'The Trial', 'The Scaffold', 'Treachery', 'Hunted', 'Captured' and 'The Last Enemy'.