The Owl Service - Series 1 - Complete DVD


The definitive adaptation of Alan Garner's award-winning novel The Owl Service combines mystery adventure history and the legend surrounding a complex set of human relationships. Alison and her step-brother Roger go for the summer family holiday to a remote cottage in the Welsh Valleys. After hearing a scratching noise coming from the attic Alison discovers some old dinner plates which have a strange floral pattern on them and when she traces the pattern on paper discovers that the flowers turn into owls. But what is the connection between the plates the gardener... the angry housekeeper and the mysterious local legend? [show more]

Read More

buy new from £10.49 | RRP: £14.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount
Searching retailers...
  • DVD Details
  • Reviews (0)
  • Descriptions
  • Price History
  • Watch Trailer
28 April 2008
200 minutes 
  • Title not yet reviewed...

  • Please review this title

    We will publish your review of The Owl Service - Series 1 - Complete on DVD within a few days as long as it meets our guidelines.
    None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

    Thank you - we will review and publish your review shortly.

All eight episodes of the late-sixties TV series about a girl, holidaying with her family in a remote Welsh valley, who stumbles upon ancient magical forces. Alison (Gillian Hills), along with step-brother Roger (Francis Wallis), are spending a few weeks of the summer in Wales, at a house formerly owned by Alison's late father. After discovering a set of dinner plates in the attic, Alison traces the plates' flower pattern onto paper, discovering that they fold in turn into owls. Soon, the house starts to reveal hidden secrets, compelling Alison to experience an ancient legend brought back to life.

Based on Alan Garner's novel, THE OWL SERVICE tells the story of Alison and her step-brother Roger. They go on a family holiday in the Welsh Valleys and stay in a cottage that has it share of supernatural secrets. Features the complete series.